Podia vs Teachable cost
No affiliate links: every vendor link goes straight to the platform's own pricing page. Disclosure.
Fees change; confirm on the vendor's pricing page before buying.
Teachable Starter ($39 plus 7.5%) costs less than Podia Mover ($49 plus 5%) below about $400 a month in sales, and Mover costs less above that. Teachable Builder ($89, 0%) beats Mover above about $800, and is $10 a month cheaper than Podia Shaker ($99, 0%) at any revenue. Processing is 2.9% + 30c on both.
| Platform / plan | Eligibility | Monthly price | Annual billing / month | Platform fee | Native processing | Own gateway surcharge | Verification / confidence | Sources / notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teachable / starter | eligible | $39.00 | $29.00 | 7.5% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Page: 'Sales transaction fees 7.5%'. Processing (Teachable Payments): US cards 2.9% + 30c; international cards 3.9% + 30c; US PayPal 3.49% + 49c; intl PayPal 4.99% + 49c; $15 chargeback; optional BackOffice 2-2.8%. Own-gateway surcharge null: pricing page states no fee for bringing your own gateway and does not say whether it is allowed on this plan. No free plan; 7-day trial + 30-day money-back (a popup also says 30-day trial). Secondary fields: none recorded |
| Teachable / builder | eligible | $89.00 | $69.00 | 0% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Page: '0% transaction fee'. FAQ ties 0% to 'when you use Teachable Payments'; what applies with a custom gateway is not stated -> surcharge null. Same processing schedule as Starter. Secondary fields: none recorded |
| Teachable / growth | eligible | $189.00 | $139.00 | 0% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Page: '0% transaction fee'. Same caveats as Builder. Secondary fields: none recorded |
| Teachable / custom | eligible | contact sales / price unavailable | contact sales / price unavailable | 0% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Contact-sales tier; no price shown. The r14 'Advanced $309 annual' plan does not appear on the pricing page -> treat as unverified/retired. Secondary fields: none recorded |
| Podia / mover | eligible | $49.00 | $42.00 | 5% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Page: 'On the Mover plan, we charge a 5% transaction fee.' Podia has no native processor; native_processor here is the required Stripe/PayPal rate the page quotes ('2.9% + 30c', 'may vary based on your location'). Surcharge null = not applicable. Monthly price ($49) comes from the page's structured data; visible cards show only annual ($42/mo, $504/yr). 14-day trial, no card required; no free plan. Secondary fields: none recorded |
| Podia / shaker | eligible | $99.00 | $84.00 | 0% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Page: 'There are no Podia fees on the Shaker or Earthquaker plans.' Annual $84/mo = $1,008/yr. Same processor caveat as Mover. Secondary fields: none recorded |
| Podia / earthquaker | eligible | $179.00 | $150.00 | 0% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Third tier not in r14 table (Sellfy's '3 tiers' claim was right). Annual $150/mo = $1,800/yr. 0% Podia fee. Secondary fields: none recorded |
Illustrative annual costs
Annual billing, average sale $100. These estimates use the fee data above and do not assess product features or payment-provider eligibility.
$25,000.00 annual revenue · native processing
| Platform / plan | Eligibility | Subscription / year | Platform fee / year | Processing / year | Gateway surcharge / year | Total / year | Effective take | Status / assumptions | Verification / confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Teachable / builder | eligible | $828.00 | $0.00 | $800.00 | $0.00 | $1,628.00 | 3.312% | eligible | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 |
| 2. Podia / shaker | eligible | $1,008.00 | $0.00 | $800.00 | $0.00 | $1,808.00 | 4.032% | eligible | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 |
Plans excluded from this ranking
| Platform / plan | Eligibility | Subscription / year | Platform fee / year | Processing / year | Gateway surcharge / year | Total / year | Effective take | Status / assumptions | Verification / confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teachable / custom | eligible | Unavailable | $0.00 | $800.00 | $0.00 | Unavailable | Undefined / unavailable | contact sales / price unavailable | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 |
$100,000.00 annual revenue · native processing
| Platform / plan | Eligibility | Subscription / year | Platform fee / year | Processing / year | Gateway surcharge / year | Total / year | Effective take | Status / assumptions | Verification / confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Teachable / builder | eligible | $828.00 | $0.00 | $3,200.00 | $0.00 | $4,028.00 | 0.828% | eligible | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 |
| 2. Podia / shaker | eligible | $1,008.00 | $0.00 | $3,200.00 | $0.00 | $4,208.00 | 1.008% | eligible | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 |
Plans excluded from this ranking
| Platform / plan | Eligibility | Subscription / year | Platform fee / year | Processing / year | Gateway surcharge / year | Total / year | Effective take | Status / assumptions | Verification / confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teachable / custom | eligible | Unavailable | $0.00 | $3,200.00 | $0.00 | Unavailable | Undefined / unavailable | contact sales / price unavailable | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 |
More fee references
Pricing by platform
- Thinkific pricing
- Teachable pricing and transaction fees
- Kajabi pricing
- Podia pricing and fees
- Kit Commerce fees
- LearnWorlds pricing and fees
- Skool pricing and transaction fees
- Stan Store pricing
- Gumroad fees
- Payhip pricing and fees
- Systeme.io pricing
Head-to-head comparisons
- Thinkific vs Teachable cost
- Kajabi vs Thinkific cost
- Kajabi vs Skool cost
- Teachable vs Kajabi cost
- Stan Store vs Kajabi cost
- Gumroad vs Payhip cost
- Thinkific vs LearnWorlds cost
- Podia vs Teachable cost
- Thinkific Payments vs your own Stripe