Thinkific vs Teachable cost
No affiliate links: every vendor link goes straight to the platform's own pricing page. Disclosure.
Fees change; confirm on the vendor's pricing page before buying.
Teachable Starter ($39 plus 7.5%) costs less than Thinkific Start ($109, 0% platform fee) below about $933 a month in sales. Above that, Teachable Builder ($89, 0%) is $20 a month cheaper than Thinkific Start. Thinkific's fixed per-sale cents and own-gateway surcharges are per secondary sources.
| Platform / plan | Eligibility | Monthly price | Annual billing / month | Platform fee | Native processing | Own gateway surcharge | Verification / confidence | Sources / notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thinkific / start | eligible | $109.00 | $82.00 | 0% | 2.9% + fixed fee unknown, assumed $0 | 2% | Last verified: 2026-10-21 partly from secondary source | Vendor pricing Prices and 2.9% Thinkific Payments rate read from pricing page (FAQ: 'in line with other processors like Stripe and Paypal at 2.9%'); page gives no fixed cents (support search snippet says 2.9% + 30c US/CA, not fetched). No platform revenue share. Own-gateway surcharge 2.0% comes from a support.thinkific.com search snippet (article 22383950439575 returned HTTP 403 on fetch) -> secondary; applies to Stripe, PayPal 'in future', waived above $1M sales/calendar year. PayPal not available on Start per pricing table. No free plan; 30-day trial. Own-gateway surcharge (2/1/0.5%) is from an official-domain search snippet; support page returned 403. Verify manually. Secondary fields: own_processor_surcharge_pct, native_processor.fixed_cents |
| Thinkific / grow | eligible | $219.00 | $164.00 | 0% | 2.9% + fixed fee unknown, assumed $0 | 1% | Last verified: 2026-10-21 partly from secondary source | Vendor pricing Same sourcing as Start. Surcharge 1.0% from support.thinkific.com search snippet only (secondary). PayPal accepted on Grow. Own-gateway surcharge (2/1/0.5%) is from an official-domain search snippet; support page returned 403. Verify manually. Secondary fields: own_processor_surcharge_pct, native_processor.fixed_cents |
| Thinkific / expand | eligible | $499.00 | $374.00 | 0% | 2.9% + fixed fee unknown, assumed $0 | 0.5% | Last verified: 2026-10-21 partly from secondary source | Vendor pricing Same sourcing as Start. Surcharge 0.5% from support snippet (secondary). Support table also lists a 'Basic' plan at 5.0% and 'Plus: no fee at this time', but no Basic plan appears on the pricing page; Plus is contact-sales. The '0.7% TP fee' in r14 was not found on any page. Own-gateway surcharge (2/1/0.5%) is from an official-domain search snippet; support page returned 403. Verify manually. Secondary fields: own_processor_surcharge_pct, native_processor.fixed_cents |
| Teachable / starter | eligible | $39.00 | $29.00 | 7.5% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Page: 'Sales transaction fees 7.5%'. Processing (Teachable Payments): US cards 2.9% + 30c; international cards 3.9% + 30c; US PayPal 3.49% + 49c; intl PayPal 4.99% + 49c; $15 chargeback; optional BackOffice 2-2.8%. Own-gateway surcharge null: pricing page states no fee for bringing your own gateway and does not say whether it is allowed on this plan. No free plan; 7-day trial + 30-day money-back (a popup also says 30-day trial). Secondary fields: none recorded |
| Teachable / builder | eligible | $89.00 | $69.00 | 0% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Page: '0% transaction fee'. FAQ ties 0% to 'when you use Teachable Payments'; what applies with a custom gateway is not stated -> surcharge null. Same processing schedule as Starter. Secondary fields: none recorded |
| Teachable / growth | eligible | $189.00 | $139.00 | 0% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Page: '0% transaction fee'. Same caveats as Builder. Secondary fields: none recorded |
| Teachable / custom | eligible | contact sales / price unavailable | contact sales / price unavailable | 0% | 2.9% + $0.30 / sale | own-gateway not stated by vendor | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 | Vendor pricing Contact-sales tier; no price shown. The r14 'Advanced $309 annual' plan does not appear on the pricing page -> treat as unverified/retired. Secondary fields: none recorded |
Illustrative annual costs
Annual billing, average sale $100. These estimates use the fee data above and do not assess product features or payment-provider eligibility.
$25,000.00 annual revenue · native processing
| Platform / plan | Eligibility | Subscription / year | Platform fee / year | Processing / year | Gateway surcharge / year | Total / year | Effective take | Status / assumptions | Verification / confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Teachable / builder | eligible | $828.00 | $0.00 | $800.00 | $0.00 | $1,628.00 | 3.312% | eligible | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 |
| 2. Thinkific / start | eligible | $984.00 | $0.00 | $725.00 | $0.00 | $1,709.00 | 3.636% | eligible; fixed fee unknown, assumed $0 | Last verified: 2026-10-21 partly from secondary source |
Plans excluded from this ranking
| Platform / plan | Eligibility | Subscription / year | Platform fee / year | Processing / year | Gateway surcharge / year | Total / year | Effective take | Status / assumptions | Verification / confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teachable / custom | eligible | Unavailable | $0.00 | $800.00 | $0.00 | Unavailable | Undefined / unavailable | contact sales / price unavailable | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 |
$100,000.00 annual revenue · native processing
| Platform / plan | Eligibility | Subscription / year | Platform fee / year | Processing / year | Gateway surcharge / year | Total / year | Effective take | Status / assumptions | Verification / confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Thinkific / start | eligible | $984.00 | $0.00 | $2,900.00 | $0.00 | $3,884.00 | 0.684% | eligible; fixed fee unknown, assumed $0 | Last verified: 2026-10-21 partly from secondary source |
| 2. Teachable / builder | eligible | $828.00 | $0.00 | $3,200.00 | $0.00 | $4,028.00 | 0.828% | eligible | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 |
Plans excluded from this ranking
| Platform / plan | Eligibility | Subscription / year | Platform fee / year | Processing / year | Gateway surcharge / year | Total / year | Effective take | Status / assumptions | Verification / confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teachable / custom | eligible | Unavailable | $0.00 | $3,200.00 | $0.00 | Unavailable | Undefined / unavailable | contact sales / price unavailable | Last verified: 2026-10-21 verified from vendor page 2026-10-21 |
More fee references
Pricing by platform
- Thinkific pricing
- Teachable pricing and transaction fees
- Kajabi pricing
- Podia pricing and fees
- Kit Commerce fees
- LearnWorlds pricing and fees
- Skool pricing and transaction fees
- Stan Store pricing
- Gumroad fees
- Payhip pricing and fees
- Systeme.io pricing
Head-to-head comparisons
- Thinkific vs Teachable cost
- Kajabi vs Thinkific cost
- Kajabi vs Skool cost
- Teachable vs Kajabi cost
- Stan Store vs Kajabi cost
- Gumroad vs Payhip cost
- Thinkific vs LearnWorlds cost
- Podia vs Teachable cost
- Thinkific Payments vs your own Stripe